Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engines & Directories > Google > Google AdWords
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-24-2005   #1
apcorob
total newbie

apcorob is on a distinguished road
Does it make sense to purchase advertising if you are number 1, 2 or 3 on page one???

Another possibly silly question.

I hope the many experts out there can help.

Does it ever make sense to purchase paid positions when you have the top organic listing for the same search term?

I know that I almost always click on the organic listings and ignore the paid listings.

Please help if you will.
apcorob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005   #2
doc816

doc816 is on a distinguished road
I wouldn't do it.

Anyone whos going to click on your sponsored listing when you're showing up in organic results is most likely a competitor or a web crawler. Thats just my opinion.
doc816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005   #3
apcorob
total newbie

apcorob is on a distinguished road
that is what I thought also....

thank you very much

Rob
apcorob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005   #4
Robert_Charlton

Robert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud ofRobert_Charlton has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by apcorob
Does it ever make sense to purchase paid positions when you have the top organic listing for the same search term?

I know that I almost always click on the organic listings and ignore the paid listings.
Probably depends on the type of listing. If both paid and organic listings are recognizable as belonging to the same company, I'd strongly recommend maintaining the paid as well as the organic.