Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Optimization
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-01-2006   #1
NewKidOnTheBlock

NewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of light
Is SEO a game of outsmarting SE's?

Hello,

I'm pretty new to this and don't know much about SEO, etc., yet, though I'm pretty curious about it, already.

After reading quite a bit about it, it seems to me, that SEO is really about playing the game and trying to outsmart Search Engines. Or well not necessarily outsmarting them in a bad way (not at all), but figuring out how they work (which they usually don't want people to know) and then taking advantage of that information (though of course there's a lot more to it as diverse as this field seems to be).

Thx

P.S.: Maybe in a few weeks, I'll realize, this statement was totally wrong or maybe after the first answer already ;-).
NewKidOnTheBlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006   #2
mcanerin

mcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond reputemcanerin has a reputation beyond repute
There are two major ways to approach SEO:

1. You VS The Search Engine
2. You VS Your Competition

These are two different paradigms, and tend to result in two different types of methodology to be used.