Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Marketing
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-17-2006   #1
vayapues
10 kinds of people in the world. Those who know binary numbers, and those who don't

vayapues is just really nicevayapues is just really nicevayapues is just really nicevayapues is just really nice
Are we obligated to tell the client

I have heard it said that a website is like a rear-end. Everyone has one, but no one wants to see yours.

As a programmer, I often feel that my projects are like children. I have emotional attachments to them, and want to see them grow and prosper. It is frustrating when, due to lack of interest, they die.

I have, more then a couple times, been involved with high-end projects where the client spends many tens of thousands of dollars to build what they think will be the next ebay, or the next Amazon, only to have the sites go offline within a year or two.

Here is my question:
Do we have an obligation to tell the client their website is a bad idea?

Example:
I had a 25 year old hire me to build him an ebay like auction site. He did not want to use scripts from hotscripts.com, or others. He spent what was probably an inheritance to have it built. I knew his project would fail, and really struggled with it. I mentioned it to him a few times, but he was determined. Ultimatly, I decided that if he didn't hire me, he would hire my competition. At least I could insure his site was really good, that it was SE friendly, even if it was bound to fail.

Hey, and who knows, maybe he would succeed, and be the next Internet billionaire, who am I to stop him.

Another Example: