Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Optimization > Link Building
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-12-2006   #1
cyberian

cyberian is on a distinguished road
Is Emailing Webmasters For Links Spam?

I'm new to SEO and was looking to buy SEO elite and it provides the whois email addresses for you to exchange reciprocal links. I was wondering if this is considered spam as it is unsolicited email. I also read about this method from other SEO sources.

Has anyone purchased SEO elite? Does it really help your ranking? I did a search for reviews, but it looks like no one has purchased it or hasn't given a good review.
cyberian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006   #2
rogerd

rogerd is a jewel in the roughrogerd is a jewel in the roughrogerd is a jewel in the roughrogerd is a jewel in the rough
Welcome, cyberian. Link request emails MAY be considered spam by some web hosts and some webmaster recipients of such email.

The key variables from the web host standpoint are the number of requests that you send, whether they are almost identical, and, most important, if they get complaints from recipients. Some hosts won't shut you down for all but the most egregious spamming, while others seem to have a "presumed guilty" approach.

As far as webmasters reporting you, it's possible that you could get reported for even a well written, personal email. It's far more likely, though, that a webmaster will report you if the request appears to be automated or has little or no thought content. I get a ton of automated link requests from crappy hyphenated domains and just delete them, but some people take the time to file spam reports.