Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engines & Directories > Yahoo! > Yahoo Web Search
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2005   #1
JohnGalt
That's not my real name...
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
JohnGalt will become famous soon enough
Question Yahoo Submit Your Site Broken?

All day I've been trying to submit using:

http://submit.search.yahoo.com/free/request

But I just get a message saying:

"The following resulted when trying to access your document: timeout"

I tried submitting both URLs and a .txt feed, same thing with both.

Anyone else seeing this?
JohnGalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005   #2
traian
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 187
traian is on a distinguished road
yahoo feed solution

I have experienced the same problem.
Have you submitted a large file? How much is?
Try to split the the .txt file or better, make a gzip archive and then resubmit the small one (<100Kb).

Maybe you will have luck.

I will come back with other helpfull informations about this subject if you will not succeed.
traian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005   #3
JohnGalt
That's not my real name...
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
JohnGalt will become famous soon enough
Nah - it was a .txt file with just one url in it, so that's not it, but thanks.
JohnGalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005   #4
traian
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 187
traian is on a distinguished road
Here's one tip:

try naming your file urllist.txt.gz

Hope it helps. It's the unofficial answer from yahoo. Let me know if it worked
traian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005   #5
PortofDreams
Web Development & Marketing
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 40
PortofDreams is on a distinguished road
Yahoo Submit Problems

This has been an ongoing issue with the site submit. I experienced the same thing about 5 months ago, and then it happened again last week. It seems like it gives that message when there is a load on there servers. If you keep trying every 4-5 hours it will eventually work. Unfortunate, but true.
PortofDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005   #6
JohnGalt
That's not my real name...
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
JohnGalt will become famous soon enough
Thanks! Glad to hear it's not just me going nuts...I will warm up my clicking finger and go to it.
JohnGalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off