Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Marketing
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-24-2004   #1
wiltonbiz

wiltonbiz is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Using search engine submission software

I was just reading an ad for some search engine submission software, and it sure sounded good. A few clicks, and I'm submitted to thousands of search engines, and directories, etc. I read testimonials from users who said their traffic increased tenfold after using the product.

Now I'm fairly new at SEO, and I have never used such a tool. And I have a nagging thought in the back of my mind that there is a downside. Before I take the plunge (or not) -- what do other people think about using this software?
wiltonbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2004   #2
Marcia

Marcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond reputeMarcia has a reputation beyond repute
There aren't any thousands of search engines, there are only a few that actually drive any traffic. And those will find sites through following links. It's also impossible to rank with no links. Besides, submission won't do anything for a site unless it's properly optimized - which is not rocket science, it just takes spending some time learning.

Incidentally, automated submissions are not only an exercise in futility, they violate the TOS of search engines - you can read it at Google's site; they do not like automated anything.