Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Advertising
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-25-2005   #1
cline
Aderit Internet Marketing Consulting: www.Aderit.com

cline has a spectacular aura aboutcline has a spectacular aura about
Stopping Anti-Spyware from Deleting Cookies

Kevin Lee's article Crumbling Cookies Threaten SEM and Online Advertising points to a large and growing problem for tracking online advertising where he suggests that the solution is through consumer education supported by trade associations.

There's nothing wrong with that idea, except it's not enough.

The large increase in cookie deletion isn't likely to be caused by users manually deciding to delete their cookies; it's caused by all the anti-malware software packages users have downloaded. This software is telling users that cookies are bad and telling them to delete them.

Example: Ad-Aware
Personal story: Despite repeated lectures on what not to do, our teenager manages to frequently gunk up her computer with malware. It got so bad I had to get Ad-Aware Professional to help keep the computer usable. Ad-Aware treats harmless cookies the same way it does browser hijackers, urging users to quarantine them.

Perhaps the anti-malware industry can be persuaded to change its mind about cookies. Perhaps not.

But maybe the most effective strategy would be for the industry players who need those cookies most, players such as Google, Yahoo, AOL, and MSN, to promote their own, free anti-malware software. Doing so would not only turn the tide on cookie deletion and help protect their advertising revenue streams, it would also a well-received value-added service that would give the first one or two a competitive advantage in gaining market share.

Last edited by cline : 03-25-2005 at 01:27 PM. Reason: more specific title
cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005   #2