Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > General Search Issues > Search Technology & Relevancy
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-03-2004   #1
Web CEO Team

Web CEO Team is an unknown quantity at this point
Do keywords in URL influence your rank? Research by Web CEO Team.

Moderator note:

Moved to Search Technology and Relevancy area from Beta Test area
__________________________________________________ _______________

Hello guys!

My name is Serge Bond and I am a search engine analyst working for www.webceo.com. I decided to find out the real importance of keyword presence in URL. There are so many empty-minded topics with lots of opinions and no research preceding them. That's why I performed the following research:

I made a list consisting of both very competitive and uncompetitive keyphrases. The level of competition was estimated by number of results (in Google and Yahoo) and by the number of daily searches (taken from WebCEO).
Overall, I have taken 24 keyphrases with almost 30000 URLs. Here’s the list:

By each keyword I have extracted the URLs of top-700 pages. This was done, again, with the help of Web CEO. Even though our tool lets you extract up to 1000 URLs, Google rarely gives really more than 700 (even less, as a rule). You can see the number of URLs for each kwd in the table above.

After this, I have created a spreadsheet summarizing the number of keywords from the keyphrase in these URLs. For example, let’s consider the keyphrase “search engine optimization”. In my spreadsheet, next to the URL search-engine-bla.com would stand “2” (because in the URL are present “search” (1) and “engine” (2)). Accordingly, in front of search-engine-optimization.com would stand “3”. For example:

You can see all other tables at my blog http://seometry.blogspot.com