Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Optimization
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-23-2008   #1
NewKidOnTheBlock

NewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of lightNewKidOnTheBlock is a glorious beacon of light
Tricky keyword density question!;)

I just read a text about a topic and realized that the 3 word in the first paragraph was the keyword I would have used (it wasn't in the title or header, though).

This made me ask myself (and now you!) a thought-provoking question:

If I was a search engineer at Google or elsewhere and I was into favoring 'natural sites' and thus 'natural anchor text' (and was extremely smart like the people in those positions are and had a ton of data), wouldn't I try to find out what an ABSOLUTELY natural pattern (frequency) of keyword density/keywords in the title/headers, etc. looks like and then use this pattern (frequency) as the pattern that gets the most brownie points?

This sounds like no new idea, but what I'm trying to stress is this:

If they did that, then wouldn't it actually have to hurt your rankings if you know about SEO and trying to use certain keywords, etc.? I must admit, I try to write for humans, not for machines and make it sound natural and all, but I bet the sole fact that I do know about keyword density, etc. means that I'll use a higher frequency of keyword occurences than a perfectly natural pattern would have.