Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Vertical Markets & Specialty Search > Multilingual Search Markets & Non-US Engines
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-22-2007   #1
jggretton

jggretton is on a distinguished road
SEM in Spain and Latin America. Google? Yahoo? Local Search Engines?

Hello all, this is my first time on Search Engine Watch, and I've been enjoying reading through the debates on various seo/sem issues!

I'm about to start a Natural and PPC campaign for a Swiss company targeting users in Spain and across Latin America. In the past I've only targeted UK and US audiences so have focussed all my efforts on Google.

I'm now interested to know if there are better Search Engines to target for Spanish (and potentially Portuguese) speaking users in Spain and across Latin America.

Note: there are some old forum posts on this topic, but they seem quite out of date. Any up to date information would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

James
jggretton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007   #2
AussieWebmaster
Forums Editor, SearchEngineWatch

AussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant future
Re: SEM in Spain and Latin America. Google? Yahoo? Local Search Engines?

Obviously Google makes it easier... but you should break into campaigns by country so you can limit the traffic and see the differences with the language.

The countries within South America as much as SA and Spain itself have different expressions and use of language that can dramatically impact your CTR etc.