Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > General Search Issues > Search Technology & Relevancy
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-22-2007   #1
sdffa11

sdffa11 is on a distinguished road
Flash and SEO

I was just recently hired for an in house position at an online retail business to handle their SEM. But a small part of my job is going to have to deal with aspects of SEO. I graduated last year and have 6 months experience at another SEO/SEM company but decided to switch jobs after learning that I could earn a lot more at another company. Most of my experience at my previous position has to deal with SEM but I have had a little experience organically optimizing clients' websites but now, my supervisor asked me to look up some information regarding Flash and SEO since he would like to implement Flash to our revised website in a couple of months.

Now I have already did a search on the forums and search engines for articles regarding Flash and SEO but I have seen a lot of differing opinions. Some say that using Flash is not a problem when trying to optimize a website provided you do it correctly but none seem to go into detail on "how to do it correctly". Others say flash should not be used at all because search engines cannot identify .swf files. Also, some of these articles that I have read seem to be many years old so I do not really trust it since this topic could be inconsistent compared to years ago. Can some of your SEO experts fill me in on this problem to help make my transition to this new position as smoothly as possible? Thanks a lot.
sdffa11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007   #2
sdffa11

Also, please note that I have no experience in ever touching any flash files. I just found out yesterday what a .swf file was so if you can help me out, please try to dumb down the terms as I am fairly new at this topic and industry.
Old 06-22-2007   #3
SanDiegoSEO