Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engines & Directories > Google > Google AdWords
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-04-2007   #1
abbottsys
Oversees AdWords

abbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud ofabbottsys has much to be proud of
An overview of AdWords to date..

I've been using adwords since Feb, 2002. So today I decided to do a quick "all time" review and put my thoughts together with regards to what's given me the best ROI over the years. Here's what I came up with..

1) Ad formats
You've got text, image and video. Text rules. It's the workhorse of ad formats.

2) Ad distribution
You've got keyword targeted (on the Search, Content, and Mobile networks), and site targeted. Keyword targeted blows site targeted away.

3) Payment methods
You've got CPC, CPM and CPA. Without a doubt CPC totally dominates. CPC revenue has single-handedly built Google.

Who knows what the future might bring, but the feeling I get from the past 5 years is that the "Text/Keyword Targeting/CPC" model will be very hard to beat. In fact, it may be unbeatable. It may be *the* model for online ads. Not sexy, not glamorous - just deadly effective.
abbottsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007   #2
AdWordsRep
AdWords Customer Advocate

AdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud ofAdWordsRep has much to be proud of
abbottsys, I gotta say it. You start some really excellent topics.