Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Optimization
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-31-2006   #1
uhuh

uhuh is on a distinguished road
I have a top keyword #1 position, I am wondering how i got it

yeh i made a web page about 4 or 5 years ago and the ntotally forgot about it,so the other day im searching and find it listed #1 in almost every search engine. i havnt a clue about seo or whatever,im just a beginner.

im wondering how did this happen since nothing is on the site except /index of. im also wondering if there is a way to capitalize from being first for a common keyword. if i put up a new site now,will it have an effect on the ranking? also if i do put up a new site how long before the new title/description shows up in searches.

anyway,thanks in advance
uhuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006   #2
BuckfastMonk
test, test, test, test, test, test, change. test, test, test, test, test, change

BuckfastMonk will become famous soon enough
. . .

What is your domain name and what terms are being ranked highly?
BuckfastMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007   #3
evilgreenmonkey

evilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud ofevilgreenmonkey has much to be proud of
A 5 year old site can carry a lot of trust - think how many website concepts stick around for more then a year. All it usually takes is one page of content and a few inbound links to get some form of ranking when the search term isn't commercially competitive, especially if the domain registrant, host and website haven't changed much over the years.

Things you can do: