Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engines & Directories > Google > Google Web Search
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2006   #1
KevinS
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
KevinS is on a distinguished road
How can I solve this double content issue or what is my problem?

Dear Sir/Madam,

I have my own website www.vragenforum.nl

I have some redirects to this site:
www.vragenforum.com etc. ( I have like 6 redirects)

March this year we redirected some other domains to our website
www.computerveilig.nl, www.pcvragenforum.net
(We merged with these sites)

At THAT moment I had like 1600 unique visitors a day until 21 June. Almost all my links in Google to www.vragenforum.nl are gone. I went from 1600 visitors a day to 200.

And I don't know what happened.
Some people said something about double-content but I don't know what to do now.

Thank you for those who can give me some help/info!

Kevin,
The Netherlands.

Last edited by KevinS : 07-31-2006 at 01:58 PM.
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006   #2
seoapprentice
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 87
seoapprentice is on a distinguished road
Make sure you use a 301 redirect from the new domains to the original domain. This will tell SE's that these are all the same site.
seoapprentice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006   #3
KevinS
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
KevinS is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by seoapprentice
Make sure you use a 301 redirect from the new domains to the original domain. This will tell SE's that these are all the same site.
Oke thank you I wil take a look at that.
But do you know how I get my domein www.vragenforum.nl back in google? Well the domain is in google but now new content has been taken bij googlebot for a while now...
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006   #4
AussieWebmaster
Forums Editor, SearchEngineWatch
 
AussieWebmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,154
AussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinS
Oke thank you I wil take a look at that.
But do you know how I get my domein www.vragenforum.nl back in google? Well the domain is in google but now new content has been taken bij googlebot for a while now...
If you do the 301 redirect you could see it jump back pretty quickly.... whatever your new main domain name is that is where you redirect everything else... if there are interior pages that should go to interior pages then do them as separate redirects etc.
AussieWebmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006   #5
KevinS
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
KevinS is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AussieWebmaster
If you do the 301 redirect you could see it jump back pretty quickly.... whatever your new main domain name is that is where you redirect everything else... if there are interior pages that should go to interior pages then do them as separate redirects etc.
How could I best make this 301 redirect?
And if this is not the problem what could it be else?
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006   #6
g1smd
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 253
g1smd will become famous soon enough
# Fix Canonical URLs for Site 1:
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on
# Rewrite /index.html to / for any folder or root
RewriteCond %{THE_REQUEST} ^[A-Z]{3,9}\ /.*index\.html\ HTTP/
RewriteRule ^(.*)index.html$ /$1 [R=301,L]
# Rewrite non-www for Site 1 to www for Site 1
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^site1\.nl [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$
http://www.site1.nl/$1 [L,R=301]
# Rewrite Site 2 to Site 1
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^site2\.nl [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$
http://www.site1.nl/$1 [L,R=301]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.site2\.nl [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$
http://www.site1.nl/$1 [L,R=301]
# Rewrite Site 3 to Site 1
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^site3\.nl [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$
http://www.site1.nl/$1 [L,R=301]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.site3\.nl [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$
http://www.site1.nl/$1 [L,R=301]
# Rewrite Site 4 to Site 1
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^site4\.nl [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$
http://www.site1.nl/$1 [L,R=301]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.site4\.nl [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$
http://www.site1.nl/$1 [L,R=301]
g1smd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006   #7
AussieWebmaster
Forums Editor, SearchEngineWatch
 
AussieWebmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,154
AussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant future
http://www.webconfs.com/how-to-redirect-a-webpage.php
AussieWebmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006   #8
KevinS
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
KevinS is on a distinguished road
We have changed the domain names to 301 redirects due the DNS this could take 4 tot 24 hours to change.

One more question:
How could I know/see that this problem has come because of the domain names/redirect and not because of something else? I really don’t know…

Thank you!
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006   #9
AussieWebmaster
Forums Editor, SearchEngineWatch
 
AussieWebmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,154
AussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinS
We have changed the domain names to 301 redirects due the DNS this could take 4 tot 24 hours to change.

One more question:
How could I know/see that this problem has come because of the domain names/redirect and not because of something else? I really don’t know…

Thank you!
This action will not hurt you so it is a non-loss test... if you do not see any positive changes then it is time to look at other possible reasons... the trick is to get the process of elimination down!
AussieWebmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006   #10
KevinS
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
KevinS is on a distinguished road
Oke the domain redirects are all set to 301 redirect.
Now I have to wait? Google is still nog grawling content from my website altougt the google bot is online... Nog one page have been set in the google index yet from www.vragenforum.nl
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006   #11
g1smd
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 253
g1smd will become famous soon enough
Test that the status code for the redirects really is 301.

Run Xenu LinkSleuth over the main site and make sure there are no other problems.
g1smd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006   #12
KevinS
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
KevinS is on a distinguished road
Thank you for your reply!

Quote:
Test that the status code for the redirects really is 301.
Sorry, but how can I test this??


And I started Xenu the program found more the 150.000 addresses that’s because it is a forum I guess. I had to quit at 14 %.

Till that moment there are "errors" like:
not found
forbidden
forbidden request
no such host
no connection
time out

But these are all links which have been posted in the topic on the forum and are not from my website but links to other sites. Most of them are images.

I think it's because of the redirect but could you tell me how I can test the redirects?
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006   #13
AussieWebmaster
Forums Editor, SearchEngineWatch
 
AussieWebmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,154
AussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant futureAussieWebmaster has a brilliant future
http://www.searchenginepromotionhelp...de-checker.php

This has what you need
AussieWebmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006   #14
g1smd
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 253
g1smd will become famous soon enough
When you use Xenu, set it up so that it does not test any external links.

At this stage all you should be checking is your internal navigation.
g1smd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off