Special thanks to:
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Has anyone heard of the company called "American Keywords"?
They called on one of my clients and had them download software... I think it's a fraud company... Anyone know?? I had them uninstall the software because I don't trust companies who's site has only been live 2 months and are asking people to download software... |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
yes, my client got the call also
They are very slick with answers to everything. With my knowledge of analytics he totally changed his spiel around after asking him some key questions that no normal client would ask. Their search numbers seem bloated.
I'm very skeptical with this type of advertising - Search on webproworld and you'll find some responses to these guys also. Sounds like they have been aggressively calling all the clients listed on Yahoo's PPC search. I don't believe for one minute their deal with Microsoft - seems far-fetched to me. |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Dont' Trust American Keywords, from a past customer still awaiting guaraunteed refund
American Keywords did not generate the guaraunteed results they promised. We have asked them for a refund and they do not return our phone calls and once actually hung up on me when i told them who I was. We are pursuing legal action to get our refund.
Don't trust them! |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
New strategy in keywords upcoming through "spoken words", the keywords can be drived from spoken words through videotaping and podcast.
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
American Keywords - slick as hell, but bad news
I joined Search Engine watch just to post to this. I got a very slick sales call from a pretty knowlegable sales person from American Keywords, (edited). I always hang up on those people, but they had me going. It was slick - I should hire that guy.
I had a really hard time finding anything about them online and then I stumbled into this thread. "if it's too good to be true..... then it probably is." http://cc.msnscache.com/cache.aspx?q...-US&FORM=CVRE5 Last edited by Chris Boggs : 09-27-2006 at 03:20 PM. Reason: removed live link to comapny in question |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Strange for sure!
Maybe their related to AmericanAirlines. They have a really similar wordmark.
WHOIS on AmericanKeywords.com - says GoDaddy But Googling the fax # from their Contact Us page (818.707.0931) shows Tier3 Technology. |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Who is,
It's a private Whois Registration:
Registrant: Domains by Proxy, Inc. DomainsByProxy.com 15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353 Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 United States Go Daddy is "where" they registered it. I don't think Amercan Airlines has the capital to be venturing into other business - although steeling would probably be more profitable than flying these days. |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
American Keywords
I have read your posts on this thread, and totally disagree!
I have purchased 6 of my major google adwords thru American Keywords and have monitored all the traffic. Within one week I recaptured my initial investment, and have a conversion factor of 4.5% which is about what I recieve from my adwords campaign. I too was skeptical, but our company spends a fair amount on advertising. We are now purchasing three more phrases.These people offered us a product that works for us, and I hate to see a company slandered by people who presumably never even tried it!! they promised us traffic and delivered! |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
American Keywords used to be CyberPhrases
I found an older version of their site that has their old company name in the content. Very smart of them, huh? It seems they keep changing their company name as people catch on or file suits against them.
http://forums.searchenginewatch.com/...ad.php?p=66278 Google "CyberPhrase", "Keywords LLC", "iGetNet" it's all the same scam. If you research the owner of the company, you'll see he's a shady character. I have a feeling Ryan88 is actually the owner or something. Every other post I've seen are angry people that fell for the scam. |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
seo chica response
SEOchica: you are assuming we have anything to do with this company.
Very simply, we do not! This product worked for us. Now you are trying to smear me as well. We have at least 12 campaigns running and spend a lot on advertising. I always try new ideas and see what works for us. Your posts are negative, and demeaning to me!-Very simply this campaign is successful for us- Enough said! |
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
Not my intention to smear you. My apologies. It's a bit odd that you've only posted in relationship to this one company. I'm sure you can see my point of view.
As a whole, my goal is to simply protect my client and to inform others of scams. Companies who scam give true SEO firms a bad reputation. Of all the information I've ever seen on this company or others like it, it's extremely unhappy people and has an owner of ill reputation. If I was personally attacking anyone, I would have mentioned the owner by name. But I have nothing to gain by doing so. If you have great success by paying $1000 a year for one keyword - that's great. My understanding is that you are reaching a tiny fraction of the population and paying a great deal of money for that. But it's your cash. |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Portal Response Technology = the same thing?
Truthsayer, do you know if Portal Response Technology is the same company as all these other scammers?
|
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
I don't know, but....
I would admonish anyone from doing business with any firm that is not doing traditional methods of online SEM, however, I can't say I've heard of that firm. I'm going to stick with what I know when it comes to marketing.
|
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
I'd just like to note that a post from this thread has been removed, per violation of our Member Code of Conduct
- another company was mentioned in relation to the one currently being discussed here. it's best if we keep each of these threads limited to particular company references. - an individual was mentioned by name, and it was considered a personal attack/defamatory information. - again, violation of TOS. It is a slippery slope when we discuss these types of companies on the forums. However, the editorial staff still feels as though it's a valuable topic, and we have an obligation to allow members to seek out information or experiences of other members in this area.
__________________
http://www.adventuresinsearch.com |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
I am glad that I read through all these posts, SEW provides true value.
|
|
#16
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
The common element that runs through all the different sites, different company names and different resellers is that something called Webmenu Search or WebMenu Software is involved. Here's how Sunbelt Software describes it http://research.sunbelt-software.com...eatid =129023 Quote:
RYAN88, tell you what. Virtual Bouncer also delivers a lot of hits, you might want to try that on your computer if you like such things. I know for a fact that it "sends" a lot of traffic to sites, because I just threw out the computer a few months ago that it turned into an expensive paperweight. http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...ual+bouncer%22 Everyone is free to choose (and love) what they decide to, but some people would rather stay away from subsidizing the distribution of such fancy BHOs. Last edited by Marcia : 05-19-2007 at 04:47 AM. |
|
#18
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#19
|
||||
|
||||
|
No, it does not make any difference either way, with it being removed, so it's a moot point. It's completely irrelevant and is a different issue entirely.
The issue is editorial policy and having the authority to make the decision. A moderating/editorial action was taken regarding a post based on TOS and making a judgment call based upon forum policies. Sorry if you disagree with Elisabeth, but she's the Editor and if you have an issue with editorial policy or with her decision, then you need to contact her directly. It's off topic in this thread and isn't open to further debate or discussion. |
|
#20
|
||||
|
||||
|
Totally, Marica is 100% on the money!
|
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|