Search Engine Watch
SEO News

Go Back   Search Engine Watch Forums > Search Engine Marketing Strategies > Search Engine Optimization
FAQ Members List Calendar Forum Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-14-2006   #1
mocgiit

mocgiit is on a distinguished road
Smile What Are The 200 Signals Google Uses To Rank Pages?

I was going about my daily work load and I was reading an article about how there were about 100 onpage and off page factors that the algos consider for SEO. So over the last few weeks I took about an hour out of my busy day to try to list all the 100 factors involved with SEO. I got to about 37. It made me ask this question "Do I know what I am doing?

I have been doing SEO for about 6 years now so I would love to see if any one can come close to 100. Its always good to test your knowledge.
mocgiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006   #2
atlanta404
SEO for process engineering instrumentation

atlanta404 is on a distinguished road
37??? I'd love to see them - please post!
atlanta404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006   #3
Nivik23

Nivik23 will become famous soon enough
The only factor that I think is important is:

1)Owning the search engine

That usually helps your ranking

Honestly though, I don't think it would be all that hard to come up with a list of 100 things when you consider that numerous items in the list are able to be listed numerous times based upon set combinations

For example you take one set of factors such as:

keyword
keyword vector

then overlay that set upon another set:

weight
density

then overly that set upon yet another:

site content
backlink content

Then have independent sets:

# Server Errors
% Server Errors

and on and on. Then put them all together in a nice package with coefficients and operators. Such a list though is highly speculative and we all know how tempermental SE's are, so any such "list" is mostly pointless imo.