PDA

View Full Version : Has the affiliate scraped my meta discription?


Wager2win UK
01-29-2006, 07:52 AM
Hi,

I'll try to explain this as breifly as possible. Also note that I've added an x at the beginning of each URL, to prevent it from being crawled. Hence please remove the x if you try to use the URL.

About 4-5 weeks ago I paid for 7 keyword phrases for a three (3) month period to be listed in the preferred listing boxes on the Exact Seek Network.

My site (a UK beginners casino guide) had only been in operation for one month, hence I figured it may help me get listed quicker in the primary SE's. Plus receive some targeted hits which wouldn't cost me the earth. The total outlay was $129US.

In the last month all traffic from this Network has been totally useless, search terms such as UK+travel, UK+guide, UK+hotels consist for the main hits.

I was looking over my stats a couple of day ago and came onto a URL that included an affiliate tag and also the search term travel+guide, so I followed it. It took me to one of the SE's in the Exact Seek Network (Lookiez.com). However I could not find an referrence to my site at that URL.

So fater conducting a couple of search queries, I just searched for my sites brand name "Wager2win UK".

Scrolling down the page I locate the exact URL:

LooKiez - Your Web Search Engine!
Wager2win UK. The complete casino gambling guide Wager2win UK. Best casino guide to the most trusted online casinos
xhttp://www.lookiez.com/search.php?username=bartly&keywords=travel+guide

Maybe a little rash of me at that point, but I was sure that this affiliate had scraped my meta tag discription and was using it above, I contacted Lookiez.com

I received back what I considered to be a blow off. So I then contacted Exact Search. I received the reply below. Personally I found their reason for my discription used in the above listing as unbelievable. But I'm not a SE guru so I though it best to ask those of you who are if this is the reason?

Exact Search Reply:
No one is scraping your site.

What you are seeing at that position on a search for "wager2win uk" on lookiez, is a Yahoo search result that is used as backfill for Lookiez's regular results. What has happened is sometime this month Yahoo crawled the lookiez affiliate bartly's search page (likely from a travel guide search link on that person's homepage) which had the url xhttp://www.lookiez.com/search.php?username=bartly&keywords=travel+guide

If you click on the cache link for that page in the Lookiez results you will see what the Yahoo crawler saw. In the right column of the cached Lookiez search result page, where our Featured Listings are displayed, are 3 of your ads. These ads likely showed up because of an indirect keyword match for the word "guide" which was part of the original search term through bartly's form.

The text in the description of the listing you see when you do a search on Lookiez for "wager2win uk" is from your own ExactSeek ad, as it is the text from the page that Yahoo crawled that matched the search term "wager2win".

------------------------------------------------

Still not confident of what Exact Search has told me, I decide to do a search over at Yahoo using the phrase: username=bartly&keywords . Which returned the following:

xhttp://search.yahoo.com/search?p=username%3Dbartly%26keywords&prssweb=Search&ei=UTF-8&xargs=0&pstart=1&fr=FP-tab-web-t&dups=1

I've searched through every page and can not find the listing that is on Lookiez.com using my site's discription tag.

What I can see is site's listed that use the affiliates tag bartly but the site discriptions sure don't list any other site's info either.

Hence I'm of the opinion that what I've been told is garbage. They've tried to blow me off with some quasi manufactured Yahoo excuse, hoping I'll believe them.

As I said I sure appreicate someone who has a handle on SE's to give me some feedback on this, thank you :)