PDA

View Full Version : Scrapper Sites?


critter
07-29-2004, 11:05 AM
Hello,

I was recently brought to my attention the theory about scrapper sites. So, I had a look at Google and found one site doing this exact thing. The site doesn't belong to me, but I cannot understand how it ranks so well on Google.

The site at hand is: http://www.5starshine.com

So it appears he stole content from TOP RANKED WEBSITES on Google. It also appears that he has alot of backlinks. When you take a closer look though, it seems quite apparant that this site has signed up for a Link Exchange/Link Farm. Is it b/c he has all these backlinks from that Link Exchange Program? Or is this webmaster doing something to capture backlinks when stealing other websites content?

Thanks

Critter

Marcia
07-29-2004, 11:51 AM
critter, this isn't the kind of site everyone is howling about for scraping content.

As for why it's ranking, just with a 30 second glance: it's #1 for allinanchor: for the main keyword phrase, and if you check the cache with highlighting, take a look at the distribution of the keywords, both as a phrase and by themselves, and the use of the main phase at the bottom of the page in outbound anchor text. It's a "brandable" domain rather than one with keywords, so his anchor text is probably somewhat varied, I'd venture to guess - I didn't bother checking, but that's usually the case with a non-keyword domain name. And he didn't use excessive phrase repetition like some do - like the keywords are in the <H> tag top of the page, but in a different order and not in exact proximity.

It's just flat out heavily optimized, it's relevant for what it's ranking for, and as far as swiping text, there's no way anyone can tell who wrote what first. It's a tough game out there!

critter
07-29-2004, 11:57 AM
critter, this isn't the kind of site everyone is howling about for scraping content.

As for why it's ranking, just with a 30 second glance: it's #1 for allinanchor: for the main keyword phrase, and if you check the cache with highlighting, take a look at the distribution of the keywords, both as a phrase and by themselves, and the use of the main phase at the bottom of the page in outbound anchor text. It's a "brandable" domain rather than one with keywords, so his anchor text is probably somewhat varied, I'd venture to guess - I didn't bother checking, but that's usually the case with a non-keyword domain name. And he didn't use excessive phrase repetition like some do - like the keywords are in the <H> tag top of the page, but in a different order and not in exact proximity.

It's just flat out heavily optimized, it's relevant for what it's ranking for, and as far as swiping text, there's no way anyone can tell who wrote what first. It's a tough game out there!HEY Marcia,

I understand this, but what confuses me is he is #1 for the keyword " Car Care" which has some 12,000,000 competitors. By no means is this an easy keyword to be ranked #3 for and i would think one would need EXCELLENT backlinks to achieve this. Instead, he's using some link exchange program which seems quite shady if you asked me. Many of his backlinks are not even from themed sites?

RANK on GOOGLE: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&q=car+care

LINK EXCHANGE PROGRAM: http://www.trafficswarm.com/index-b.pl?

Thanks

Critter :)

Marcia
07-29-2004, 12:12 PM
allinanchor: in quotes for "car care"

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&safe=active&c2coff=1&q=allinanchor%3A%22car+care%22&btnG=Search

See? And again, it's obvious his anchor text must be varied. The exact phrase is at the end of the page title, and I could only find one occurrence of the exact phrase, toward the bottom of the page in larger type, though the word "car" is sprinkled throughout; "care" is just the modifying, subsidiary word. Check out the cache with highlighting on.

He's delivering the goods he's ranking for, it's nothing I'd ever consider putting in a spam report for. And as far as that linking stuff goes, that's Google's business to take care of.