View Full Version : Install PPC Conversion Tracking
suripooja
07-12-2004, 06:56 AM
Hello,
I want to know a few things on PPC Marketing. I want to run a campagin for my company on Google and overture. I have already prepared for keywords, geographical location, landing page etc. My monthly budget is $1000 for one keyword and $5000 for another keyword. I know about ROI and PPC Conversion Tracking. Can you explain me how can I manage my PPC campaigns with good ROI on my own. Is there any software that I need to install to do it all myself.
Regards,
Pooja
Incubator
07-12-2004, 12:54 PM
The ROI you are looking for can be analysed by the types of reports Google and Overture provide you in thier client sections. Depending on how you want to judge your ROI all the info you need is sthere infront of you in download format from Google and Overture. Monitoring your investment carefully as well as analytically will provide better out put for you then any type of app. Do it yourself, the knowledge you will obtain will only help you down the road with more campaigns
Cheers
wC
suripooja
07-13-2004, 03:42 AM
Thanks for your reply, this is what I wanted to know.
Regards,
Pooja
AussieWebmaster
07-16-2004, 02:10 PM
By using the Google and Overture scripts you lose the ability to double check them... but that is not too big of a deal for the budget you are working with.
First you have to put code on all your pages (regular and action pages have different code). Then you have to place code on the keywords.... this will have to be done for both Google and Overture (the pages will have two sets of code).
When you say you have a 1k and 5k budget for 2 terms I wonder why not use those two terms to the fullest and most cost effective:
Place negatives in place so the words get better qualified. Then use as many specific adjectives etc for the terms and get that traffic cheaper also.
Basically you are using the 2 terms but making a whole lot more listings from them which will lower the cost of the clicks and get you more bang for the buck!!!
suripooja
07-21-2004, 01:34 AM
Thanks for the info, few more things
1. How many keywords (related keywords) should be taken into consideration for a campaign other than the main keyword?
2. After putting the code online for Google and overture on my landing page which has a form for visitors to fill in their details I can collect some information about the visitor, I want to know what kind of report/information is been provided by Google and Overture.
3. How do we calculate our conversion rate, is that the no. of visitors divided by actual buyers or customers?
4. In your opinion which is a better search engine to run a campaign Google or Overture??
AussieWebmaster
07-21-2004, 03:14 PM
Thanks for the info, few more things
1. How many keywords (related keywords) should be taken into consideration for a campaign other than the main keyword?
2. After putting the code online for Google and overture on my landing page which has a form for visitors to fill in their details I can collect some information about the visitor, I want to know what kind of report/information is been provided by Google and Overture.
3. How do we calculate our conversion rate, is that the no. of visitors divided by actual buyers or customers?
4. In your opinion which is a better search engine to run a campaign Google or Overture??
Okay let's go through this slowly.
Let's use Google as the example.
You choose a bunch of keywords - 2 main words and variations on them. I would create 2 campaigns to start one for each of the 2 words and their variations etc.
You place page code on all pages for total accuracy - the type of code will be different for a regular page or landing page and an action page. So if they are coming to a page with a form you are trying to get filled when it is finally submitted there should be a thank you page or something that is returned after the submit is clicked - this becomes the ACTION page. So you really have a result as opposed to a visitor to a form page (many do not fill them out).
With PPC you are measuring a few things. Primarily on the site you look at Conversion - visitors versus people who ACTED (bought, filled form etc.). Thus you can determine over time that for every X visitors you get Y results.
Obviously divide X by Y and you have the conversion rate.
You have to determine the value of Y. Once you have that value you can look at what it cost to get it and see if there is a profit or a lose.
If a click costs $1 and it takes 10 clicks to get a sale or a conversion then $10 is what you take from the value of Y to determine profit etc.
Now you can lower the number in a few ways - lower your bids (total visitors may drop but the cost will for them - there is however the whole what type of visitor clicks what position - but that will be part of your advanced training); improve your landing page (if you improve the conversion rate the cost of acquisition gets lower!)... using lower priced specific terms as opposed to generic and expensive is a big one.
Many people go for that easy word that appears in most searches. They accept the higher cost and higher numbers as an operating cost....
This is foolish as the term can be qualified to fit better by using negatives and solid adjective qualifiers... you end up paying less for these terms and doing better so it is a double reward for the effort....
Okay that is a start - I will add more later - hope that helped a little. If I am off track give me a more specific question and will be glad to help.
suripooja
07-22-2004, 01:27 AM
Thanks Aussie,
Oooofff this CPC is not easy :-))
But to understand more I would like to ask :
suppose the cost per click is $1 and 20 people visited so the cost will be 1x20=20 and out of which only 5 turned as customers and 5 just filled the form so my conversion will be 20/5 = 4 , is that right??
AussieWebmaster
07-26-2004, 06:26 AM
Thanks Aussie,
Oooofff this CPC is not easy :-))
But to understand more I would like to ask :
suppose the cost per click is $1 and 20 people visited so the cost will be 1x20=20 and out of which only 5 turned as customers and 5 just filled the form so my conversion will be 20/5 = 4 , is that right??
Yes... but you should work out the value of the form fillers... what is the conversion rate of them to clients so you get a better idea of what is happening.. for example if of the 5 form fillers 1 becomes a client eventually then you would have 5 plus the 1... or 6 total (once you have done this for awhile and the numbers start to gel).
Your conversion rate of 5/20 would be 25%... so whatever you get the price of the clicks down to can be worked... true the cost of the customer equals 4 times the CPC...
jjisles
08-03-2004, 05:39 PM
Hi, I was reading your post and I had a question or two...
Regarding the first part of your post, could you explain what you mean by the pages having two sets of code?
[QUOTE=AussieWebmaster]...
First you have to put code on all your pages (regular and action pages have different code). Then you have to place code on the keywords.... this will have to be done for both Google and Overture (the pages will have two sets of code)...
And regarding the below... what do you mean by "Place negatives in place so the words get better qualified"?
When you say you have a 1k and 5k budget for 2 terms I wonder why not use those two terms to the fullest and most cost effective:
Place negatives in place so the words get better qualified. Then use as many specific adjectives etc for the terms and get that traffic cheaper also.
QUOTE]
Thanks for your help.
Jarrod
suripooja
08-04-2004, 01:20 AM
Hi Aussie...
You can answer these questions as this guy needs your reply :-))
Pooja
AussieWebmaster
08-04-2004, 03:15 PM
Hi, I was reading your post and I had a question or two...
Regarding the first part of your post, could you explain what you mean by the pages having two sets of code?
[QUOTE=AussieWebmaster]...
First you have to put code on all your pages (regular and action pages have different code). Then you have to place code on the keywords.... this will have to be done for both Google and Overture (the pages will have two sets of code)...
And regarding the below... what do you mean by "Place negatives in place so the words get better qualified"?
When you say you have a 1k and 5k budget for 2 terms I wonder why not use those two terms to the fullest and most cost effective:
Place negatives in place so the words get better qualified. Then use as many specific adjectives etc for the terms and get that traffic cheaper also.
QUOTE]
Thanks for your help.
Jarrod
Okay the 2 types of code are one for the regular landing and tracking of the visit. The other is placed on your action page so it can track when a successful event has occurred - such as a sale.
The best place to put this code is actually on the thank you page (or page one is sent to on completion of a sale or event) as there are some who come but back out at the end. The true count would be from this result action page.
Hope this helps.
I am at the conference and not getting to the board as much... too many Google drinks!
suripooja
08-17-2004, 09:18 AM
Hello,
Can you explain the benefits of each of the methods of online advertising i.e CPM (cost per thousand impression), Cost per action (CPA) and Cost-per-click (CPC).
Regards,
Pooja
AussieWebmaster
08-17-2004, 03:04 PM
Hello,
Can you explain the benefits of each of the methods of online advertising i.e CPM (cost per thousand impression), Cost per action (CPA) and Cost-per-click (CPC).
Regards,
Pooja
It is all about ROI.
CPM is a complete roll of the dice but if you have a good banner ad etc. it will attract some decent traffic and since you are paying for impressions then it can be very hit or miss. If no-one clicks on it you still pay as the impressions are delivered but no one was interested. Very careful tracking is needed to watch who clicks and how they convert.
CPA is where you only pay for the action: fill out an email or buy something etc. This is good when you can get it but at times it is a high number. So first you must know what you are willing to pay for the action (what the value of such an action is to you) so you can negotiate a price where you make money from the action.
CPC well this is a delivered visitor but not yet a customer or action taker. Here you must track them and see what the ROI (return on investment) is to be able to work at a profit.
This being said all can be useful and have different things to look for and develop. What is common to all is the need to measure their success.
Prices are generally low for CPM and high for CPA and somewhere inbetween for PPC.