View Full Version : Google Hack
Voasi
03-24-2005, 06:16 PM
A friend directed me to this search on Google and I was curious on everyone elses take on the 2nd link at the bottom of the page: www.google.com/search?q=texas+holdem&hl=en&lr=&c2coff=1&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&start=10&sa=N
I don't suspect Google was hacked, but what kind of a URL is: http://www.google.com/KaZaA-Media-Desktop-download-58.htm$
Chris_D
03-24-2005, 08:14 PM
Looks like its been removed.
This is what I'm now seeing.
In response to a complaint we received under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, we have removed 1 result(s) from this page. If you wish, you may read the DMCA complaint for these removed results.
PhilC
03-24-2005, 11:52 PM
It's interesting though, because the " read the DMCA complaint for these removed results." link is that same Google/Kazaa URL and it brings up a 404. The "$" at the end could be a mistake, of course, but a 404 is still returned without it.
The Google/Kazaa URL looks completely wrong for a Google file, and yet Google is displaying a link to it in the "removed" text. It's weird.
A search on the Kazaa filename returns a few dozen identical filenames on various sites.
Voasi
03-25-2005, 05:54 PM
Looks like its been removed.
I still see the Kazaa link on the second link in that sentence. I'm curious if anyone can figure out what's going on that page (http://www.google.com/search?q=texas+holdem&hl=en&lr=&c2coff=1&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&start=10&sa=).
Connie
03-25-2005, 09:17 PM
I still see the Kazaa link on the second link in that sentence. I'm curious if anyone can figure out what's going on that page (http://www.google.com/search?q=texas+holdem&hl=en&lr=&c2coff=1&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&start=10&sa=).
Not sure but I have a feeling the problem is on your PC. I didn't see the link
your referred to yesterday right after your post. Chris_D did not see it a little
latter. Not sure what PhilC is referring to. He talks over my head most of the time anyway. :) (No offense meant PhilC. Just exposing my lack of knowledge) My guess is you have picked up some spyware that you are not aware of which is the cause of the weird links you are seeing.
PhilC
03-25-2005, 09:24 PM
We all initially misunderstood the orginal post. He's talking about the second link in the following sentence at the bottom of the first results page:-
In response to a complaint we received under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, we have removed 1 result(s) from this page. If you wish, you may read the DMCA complaint for these removed results.
The sentence and link is at the bottom of the first 5 results pages. It's a mystery to me.
Chris_D
03-25-2005, 11:35 PM
Yes, what should be a link to "read the DMCA complaint" is a link to the google/Kazza page - which brings up a 404 - as PhilC posted. I initially thought you meant in the serps.
Yes. Weird.
Mikkel deMib Svendsen
03-26-2005, 04:46 AM
This does in fact looks very ... hmmm strange. I am just wondering: What is Google doing with KaZaA? I am sure noone hacked that link, and if not, it must have been put there by some Google employee. Why?
composer
03-26-2005, 05:07 PM
Just programming error in RegExp I thing. (see "$" at the end !)
make another search:
http://www.google.com/search?&num=10&q=kazaa+lite+k%2B%2B
look "you may *[read the DMCA complaint]* for these removed results." and click link...
result is: [Notice Unavailable; The notice you requested is not yet available.]
lots0
03-27-2005, 12:46 AM
Yes it will be interesting to see what google has to say (if anything).
I am also very interested in reading the DMCA complaint.
Mikkel deMib Svendsen
03-27-2005, 05:32 AM
Just noticed it has been blogged by one of the Kazaa founders, Morten Lund: http://mortenlund.blogspot.com/