PDA

View Full Version : olimpus.org, navisearch.net, Traffic Ads Media


sitesure
02-02-2005, 08:58 PM
Anyone heard of these "search engines"?

We're getting a several thousand hits from these (to me) unknown engines. I'm wondering if they were what were using up our PPC's on Looksmart before we closed that account.

Bill

KeywordMonkey
02-03-2005, 06:05 AM
Findology com "is a trademark of Traffic Ads Media". Their results for "car" from a UK IP are from Mirago UK. Do a search, compare the results to Mirago.com, LookSmart etc and you'll know who their US partner is.

Olimpus.org won't return results and the WHOIS is for a private individual.

Pop-up riddled navisearch is part of exactadvertising com and uses Overture currently.

Most importantly: did the traffic they sent convert? Looking at these sites, I'd be sceptical ;)

sitesure
02-03-2005, 03:07 PM
That's just it, with a burn of over $1500 on LookSmart (with them constantly updating their budget recommendation) conversions did not go up in relation to the traffic.

They did go up a bit, but my cost per conversion went through the roof. And I start seeing 1000's of visits from sites like olimpus.org (over 900 for that one alone). Makes me wonder if LookSmart is padding their clicks.

sitesure
02-03-2005, 03:08 PM
Do a search, compare the results to Mirago.com, LookSmart etc and you'll know who their US partner is.

I should have thought of that method, thanks.

KeywordMonkey
02-04-2005, 07:15 AM
I agree wth your suspicions - poor traffic from a low quality site. Olimpus still doesn't work for me.

Are you tracking to keyword level with software that records the referer?

Then you can tell which keywords and which affiliates convert - and you have the evidence to take to the engine for a refund.

This article might help if you need to know more: Click Fraud: The Reality (http://www.payperclickanalyst.com/content/templates/default.aspx?a=326)