View Full Version : Googlenot and MSNBot skipping site
ptmagnolia82
02-02-2005, 10:43 AM
Hello,
I'm looking for reasons why Googlebot and MSNBot would be skipping a site.
The site in question has been up a little over three months and has not recieved a hit from either bot. It recieves a normal volume of hits from Inktomi and is well indexed in Yahoo.
Overall we have adhered to the SEO guidelines provided by Google. I sent in my problem to Google (help@google.com) and was given a generic request, so I sent an email to googlebot@google.com and I'm still waiting for a response.
Any ideas why bots would skip a site would be very helpful.
Thank you!
inthedark
02-02-2005, 06:22 PM
I have a site...www commodity-trading-software com that was set up in early December...indexed by yahoo, msn and others...oddly enough never a hit from googlebot (I do grep the logfiles by hand)...the site went into dmoz jan 5 and yahoo jan 11 with makes it seem even stranger...I wrote google and received a response that the site was not banned or penalized by google in any way...but with over 100 inbound links incl dmoz and yahoo I would expect the bot to visit...the domain was previously owned and site:domain in google returns a supplemental result for the index page from the previous owner when the domain was parked and apparently redirected...so I would ask you...
1. Was the domain previously owned
2. Does site:domain return anything in google
3. Is the site pure html or php, asp etc
4. Have you ever changed the sites IP address
As for MSN im not sure as I have never had an issue there
Thanks,
Frank
ptmagnolia82
02-03-2005, 01:30 PM
Thanks for your reply.
The site has the same owner.
When we took over the site, the domain name was redirected to our servers, where it has its own IP Address (which means the IP address was changed).
The site: search does return a hit.
www.somesite.com/content/util/redirect.asp?storefront=oursite&url=http://www.oursite.com
("oursite" replaced our companies name)
I'm not really sure what to make of it and why this site would redirect to ours. I can't find the link on their site and I've emailed them requesting it be removed. I'm not familiar with this situation, so any help would be much appreciated.
The site is pure php. We have other sites with almost the exact coding and they are visited and indexed properly.