View Full Version : What's the scoop on www.greatbusinessdirectory.com
fulton savage
08-29-2006, 10:33 AM
I got a link trade email from this directory this morning. They have added my site to their paid directory already (cheapest link $20), and are asking for a recip.
There's no homepage PR. The domain has been registered since 2005. The directory currently has 1733 links.
Anyone familiar?
fulton savage
08-30-2006, 02:16 PM
Sorry for posting on the wrong board..? I followed these instructions:
We ask that if you have a new directory or search engine, that you place your announcement in the BETA Test (http://forums.searchenginewatch.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50) area in order to ask people for their opinions. It is highly recommended that you take the time to create a formal introduction, and try to highlight why you feel the directory or search engine is worthy of introduction and discussion. Repeated links and/or seemingly “fly-by” posts will most likely be deleted by the BETA Test Moderator.
source: http://forums.searchenginewatch.com/showthread.php?t=10226
Maybe Chris meant only if I own the directory in question..
Chris Boggs
08-30-2006, 02:23 PM
Sorry Fulton...we are still working out what to do with these types of threads, owner-generated or not. It is sometimes hard to determine, especially since people often use the old "hey I came across this directory, etc..." to self promo.
In either case, you probably would have had a response by now if anyone had heard of or used the directory in question. Maybe someone will stop by soon with some more insight or experience.
PhilC
08-30-2006, 09:02 PM
Following on from that (and going off-topic), I always keep the fly-by spammers posts in a hidden Spam sub-forum, and I disable the spammer rather than delete him/her. If the same IP get used again for spamming, I ban the IP. It doesn't always stop them from spamming but it must stop some of them if they are using the same IP each time.
Back on topic...
I always delete that kind of email. If the directory is worth anything at all, they don't need to spam you for links, which is all they are doing. The fact that they charge $20 minimum for a listing doesn't mean that anyone has ever paid anything for a listing. It's just hype and hope.
Off topic again...
I've no time for all those startup directories that introduce themselves in forums, and I only allow them to be introduced at my place after a member has made 100 posts. The reason I've no time for them is because they aren't proper directories. If they were, they would go out and find sites to add, like real directories do - there's no shortage of them. The 'introducers' aren't trying to create a useful resource for people - they have different agendas, even if it's just that they want to be in charge of something. There may be a few exceptions, but nearly all of them are like that, and I have no time for them at all.
fulton savage
08-31-2006, 02:37 PM
Thanks guys. I'm still trying to feel out the way this forum works, and your posts helped out a lot.
The reason I posted about this directory is that they already have my link indexed, and if they are a shady operation I will request it be taken down so I don't build an association with a link farm or otherwise bad neighborhood.
On the other hand, someone handed me a free link so I was curious as to why. I'm not sure whether to say thanks, so I brought it here.
PhilC
08-31-2006, 06:43 PM
It's very common for sites to put a link to your site in advance of you agreeing to it, and then emailing you about it. There's any need to ask for it to be removed.
Chris Boggs
08-31-2006, 10:48 PM
yeah I wouldn't waste my time worrying about it, fulton. They might remove it, and if not, it certainly wont hurt. It's not like you have an established pattern of those types of links, right?
(added: i would not suggest linking to them, unless your site is a business directory...and even then maybe not ;) )