PDA

View Full Version : Is Google AdSense/DomainPark perpetuating fraudalent click activity?


classa
08-27-2004, 05:08 PM
We have continued to review our website to see if we can find why we do not meet the Google quality guidelines, and conducting a search on Google for the following search term has provided some rather disturbing results.

The search term "+www.myezshop.com" yielded these following pages...

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22%2Bwww.myezshop.com%22&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&start=50&sa=N

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22%2Bwww.myezshop.com%22&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&start=60&sa=N

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22%2Bwww.myezshop.com%22&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&start=70&sa=N

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22%2Bwww.myezshop.com%22&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&start=80&sa=N

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22%2Bwww.myezshop.com%22&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&start=90&sa=N

http://www.google.com/search?q=%22%2Bwww.myezshop.com%22&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&start=100&sa=N

A review of these search returns simply titled "Search" will show that each of these domains are mirror domains of each other and they are mirroring Google AdWords results for high profile search terms such as... shopping carts

All of these listings content is identical and the domains all point to http://is.netster.com/Index.asp. If you look at the content of the pages you will see that they are simply using the listings from AdWords and Ad Sense for the popular keywords in hopes of ranking higher in the results.

Contacting the parent company of these domains, POPULAR ENTERPRISES, L.L.C. (Netster), they revealed that they are simply aggregating expired domains as soon as they become available and mirroring content across their entire network. They even admitted over the phone that their domains regularly get dropped from Google because of this. Our AdWords campaign was picked up and cached on their network as a result of this and we fear we might have been penalized for being a part of a link farm that is spamming the search engines.

Further research show us a page located at http://www.google.com/domainpark/ that almost promotes this kind of activity........AdSense for domains allows domain name registrars and large domain name holders to unlock the value in their parked page inventory. AdSense for domains delivers targeted, conceptually related keywords and advertisements to parked domain name pages by using Google's semantic technology to "understand" the meaning of each domain name. Powering over 3 million domain names, AdSense for domains is the industry's leading parked page service....

We are no longer participating in Google AdWords advertising, but looking at the cache of these pages will show that we are still in the cache that they have.

It seems that if a domain name aggregator is out there snatching up domains so that they can participate in the Google AdSense program for parked domains, they are also likely to participate in link hammering with a tool like ifaker to increase their profits.

No real accusations here, just a what if question....

NFFC
08-27-2004, 05:28 PM
> why we do not meet the Google quality guidelines

Did somebody tell you that you don't?

classa
08-27-2004, 05:34 PM
> Did somebody tell you that you don't?

This is a reply that I received from Google on 5-17-04. Pay attention to the line about setting up pages/links with the sole purpose of fooling search engines.....

From: search-quality@google.com [mailto:search-quality@google.com]
Sent: Monday, May 17, 2004 5:59 PM
To: jeff@myezshop.com
Subject: Re: [#10020648] Have I been Penalized?

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for your note. Your page has been blocked from our index because
it does not meet the quality standards necessary to assign accurate
PageRank. We cannot comment on the individual reasons your page was
removed. However, certain actions such as cloaking, writing text in such a
way that it can be seen by search engines but not by users, "or setting up
pages/links with the sole purpose of fooling search engines" may result in
permanent removal from our index. Please read our webmaster guidelines at
http://www.google.com/webmasters/guidelines.html for more information.

Regards,

The Google Team

NFFC
08-27-2004, 05:50 PM
>Pay attention to

I always do, trust me.

May I politely point out that maybe you should pay attention to;

"We cannot comment on the individual reasons your page was
removed."

Its a generic email, they must send many such emails everyday. I'd be tempted to ignore the email but stop, think, think again and then look at your site as if it wasn't your site.

classa
08-27-2004, 06:35 PM
>stop, think, think again and then look at your site as if it wasn't your site.

Just words of wisdom, or do you see something in particular?