PDA

View Full Version : Is this a scam?


Spiderdude
08-20-2004, 03:49 AM
Hello! :)

As you see from my number of posts I am new here and joined primarily because I had a question that I was hoping that someone would have a moment to answer.

Has anyone heard of BigSubmit.com? For $20 they are saying that they will enter your site URL into 799,000 search engines and directories! That sounds a bit outlandish to me! Are there that many to begin with?!? :confused: Anyway, I am looking to promote my site but my question is - is this BigSubmit.com a reputable business and would $20's be well spent? What's the catch?

Thank you for your time. Your recommendation on this matter would be most appreciated. :)

Anthony Parsons
08-20-2004, 04:47 AM
Hi spiderdude. NO, you will not get your monies worth. They are going to send your site to spammy free for all link directories and so forth.

Stay away from that sort of rubbish. Build links to your site and the spiders will naturally pick up the content. You can read google's guidelines at http://www.google.com.au/webmasters/guidelines.html which may provide a little better clarification. You can also read plenty of other good content about this within the link building section of this site, or go over to http://www.highrankings.com/forum and read the content in that also. Between the two, you will have the complete story between the good and bad you can do to your own website.

seobook
08-20-2004, 10:17 AM
autosubmit to thousands of engines = garbage.

just about any service you buy for $20 is garbage.

sem4u
08-20-2004, 10:32 AM
You are better off spending the money in a pub! It might even help you think of some website ideas :rolleyes:

withoutwax
08-20-2004, 10:33 AM
just about any service you buy for $20 is garbage.

So ask them if you can pay them $100

:) <kidding>

Spiderdude
08-20-2004, 01:28 PM
Thanks fellows for the recommendation! :) I thought I smelled a rat! Thank you Anthony for the links. :) I have been doing a lot of reading on this website and I really appreciate your pointers.

Thank you all. :cool: