PDA

View Full Version : ExactSeek/Jayde email?


eitemiller
08-19-2004, 05:32 PM
I just got this email in my box...
__________________

ExactSeek Confirmation



Our records indicate that you recently submitted your website to ExactSeek or associated search engines but have not yet verified your submission.

Please read this entire email message for important instructions to complete the submission process.

In order for your site to be listed in ExactSeek you need to verify your submission. To do this, you must first agree to receive the daily SiteProNews newsletter. Once you have confirmed your subscription to SiteProNews, your most recent site submission will also be verified and added to ExactSeek and 6 other search engines that are part of the Jayde Online Network.

For your convenience, your email address has already been entered for a subscription to the SiteProNews newsletter.

To confirm your subscription and verify your site submission, simply reply to this message or use the email link below to send your confirmation.

lyris-confirm-594440E@ftfreemail.com

If you do not want to join, do nothing. Your email address will be automatically removed.

Why Should You Subscribe to SiteProNews?

SiteProNews is the Net's most widely read webmaster newsletter. Each issue includes links to webmaster apps and resource sites, submission and promotion tools, free ebooks and weekly tips as well as expert advice and articles on webmaster-related subjects such as:

* Website design
* Site Promotion
* Search Engine Trends
* Search Engine Optimization
* Affiliate-programs
* Marketing and ECommerce

For a preview, please visit: http://www.sitepronews.com

To unsubscribe immediately, send an email message to leave-spn-html-594440E@ftfreemail.com

Sincerely,

The ExactSeek/SiteProNews Team

Jayde Online, Inc.
Suite 190, 23-845 Dakota Street
Winnipeg, MB R2M 5M3

_______________

That whole part about sending an email to subscribe or unsubscribe - the domain name ftfreemail.com is owned by " Domains by Proxy, Inc." and you can't even go to www.ftfreemail.com - file not found. Gimmick/Scam? Anyone else get an email like this? I tried to subscribe, but it bounced back immediatly...

David Wallace
08-20-2004, 03:53 PM
Looks like spam to me. I know that everytime I submit a site to ExactSeek or Jayde, I use a throw-a-way email address because the spam is sure to follow. Once I start getting spam, the email address is scrapped.

ientry
08-23-2004, 03:50 PM
Just for the record, ExactSeek is not affiliated with Jayde.com.

Jayde.com sends a confirmation email to everyone who submits a site ... which must be confirmed prior to being included in the directory. If they don't confirm, then no email is sent to the submitter.

Thanks,
Rich Ord
CEO, iEntry, Inc.

mstrocen
08-30-2004, 12:03 PM
I just got this email in my box...
__________________

ExactSeek Confirmation

Our records indicate that you recently submitted your website to ExactSeek or associated search engines but have not yet verified your submission.

Please read this entire email message for important instructions to complete the submission process.
_______________

That whole part about sending an email to subscribe or unsubscribe - the domain name ftfreemail.com is owned by " Domains by Proxy, Inc." and you can't even go to www.ftfreemail.com - file not found. Gimmick/Scam? Anyone else get an email like this? I tried to subscribe, but it bounced back immediatly...


Just a few quick comments regarding the above message that was sent out
to webmasters/site owners who had submitted a web site to ExactSeek.com:

1. ftfreemail.com is a legitimate domain but used for mailing only. No web interface was setup for this domain because there is no web content to view.

2. Domains by Proxy does not own the ftfreemail.com domain. Domains by Proxy is a privacy service that protects domain registrant privacy. The service is offered by GoDaddy and is similar to many other such services currently being offered by domain registration services.

3. The message sent by ExactSeek was a courtesy follow-up message sent to the thousands of webmasters who had submitted sites but failed to verify their submissions. It is impossible to submit a website to ExactSeek without first specifically agreeing to ExactSeek's Terms and Conditions which clearly spell out ExactSeek's confirmation and mailing policies.

4. Sending out confirmation messages is a common practice among smaller search engines. It appears to be almost as common for some webmasters to cry spam upon receiving such messages. The prevailing belief of this small group seems to be that submitting sites is a right exempt from the policies of the engines they submit to. It is largely because of this group that ExactSeek's free site submission service will be undergoing significant revisions in the coming weeks.

--
MStrocen
ExactSeek.com

eitemiller
08-30-2004, 12:13 PM
Thanks for the clarification. Care to speculate as to what kind of changes we can expect to see from ExactSeek.com?