View Full Version : Link Builder??
hiero
08-12-2004, 09:55 PM
Is anyone familiar with a company named Link Builder. Their web address is: http://www.LinkExpertise.com and they tout themselves as Experts in Quality Link Building. I received the following email from them, but I have never heard of them:
I am contacting you about cross linking. I am interested in hiero.com because it looks like it's relevant to a site for which I am seeking links.
This site is about search engine optimization research and technology for top search engine placement.
I'll keep the web address confidential and will send it to you only if you give me permission to do so. Just let me know if it's OK, and I'll send you the web address for your review. If you approve of the site, then the intention is to exchange links.
Looking forward to your reply.
seobook
08-12-2004, 10:24 PM
Hi Hiero
the site copyright date is 2002 and their site is not listed in Google's cache :(
http://216.239.39.104/search?q=cache:http%3A//www.linkexpertise.com/index.html
seems if they did a good job of link building their site probably would be
it also shows no backlinks :(
http://www.google.com/search?q=link:http%3A//www.linkexpertise.com/index.html
Inbound links, require the permission of the link candidate's website manager. The manager is sent an email with a request to consider linking to the client's website. Note, the client's URL is not divulged until the website manager accepts the "opt-in" invitation. This very important step guards the client from potential abuse from those link candidates who mistakenly think the "opt-in" invitation is SPAM.
sounds like it likely automates many potential spam requests. even though they do not put the email address in the email it is still SPAM because it is unsolicited automated email.
Daria_Goetsch
08-12-2004, 10:31 PM
Hiero,
I have heard of the company but do not know much about them. I've had various versions of the same email sent to me for reciprocal linking from our business site to whoever they suggest, probably from their company and others like it. I would think if it was on the up and up they'd include the website address they want to link to you with, even though they say otherwise on their overview page as seobook pointed out.
I agree with seobook, pretty much spam email when it comes to this type of unsolicited link request.
hiero
08-12-2004, 10:37 PM
I think you're right about the spam. I had thought that a few years ago that someone had referred me to them, but I never did anything.
I did respond back to their email asking that they provide the link to the site that they were thinking of recommending. It's been over a week and I never heard back. I made this inquiry because I thought that was strange that they took the time to email me, but then aren't responding back....weird.
Thanks for your insight.
seobook
08-12-2004, 11:02 PM
I did respond back to their email asking that they provide the link to the site that they were thinking of recommending. It's been over a week and I never heard back. I made this inquiry because I thought that was strange that they took the time to email me, but then aren't responding back....weird.
its easy to do when its automated. the purpose of spam is to shift the burdon and price of marketing time from the producer to the consumer.
sugarrae
08-16-2004, 03:27 PM
Total crap. I hit the delete button as soon as I see them. A quality link building firm would seek out non recipricols for your site first and foremost and then possibly exchanges. But, they would be high quality recipricols, which means they would actually need to *see* the site and not send out autogenerated junk.
If you want to send out blind link requests to anyone who has your target terms on their page, there are automated programs that will do it for what is likely way less than what these guys charge. Course, most webmasters worth their salt will delete those as well.
If you want quality links, it requires a little bit of ingenuity and a personal approach - links gained from these tactics are often the most beneficial and lasting. Just my two cents anyway.